Help Wanted. See perky girl in corner.

I need a proofreading volunteer. Or two.

I shared the first half of what I have completed with a friend from Twitter yesterday, and she was very kind with her words. She read yesterday for story, and promised to read it again with a sharp eye towards grammar, punctuation, lost words. I’m HORRIBLE at leaving a word of a sentence and NOT realizing it, no matter how many times I read it back through. See what I did there? I did it on purpose! That time. Too often it’s on accident. Maybe I could do a contest and promise a free copy of my next book to whoever spots the most errors in this one. Not that I want people ignoring the story in favor of finding errors.

I know authors who say don’t worry about an error. Or even two. If your story is strong enough the readers will forgive you. I know this is true, because I’ve FOUND errors in books and liked the story so much that I’d read another story from that author as quick as they can get it published. I forgive the errors.

But I don’t forget

I remember who had typos, or used the wrong tense, or who used too instead of to. I KNOW that just about everybody who writes, short of maybe those who don’t care and are looking for a quick buck because they think writing is sooooo easy, knows how to use grammar and what the rules are for words. But we all make mistakes. It’s the correcting them before others see them that counts the most. I don’t want people to remember my story as the one where I left out an adverb, added one too many letters to a word, changing it’s meaning.

I want people to remember me based on how much they liked or disliked my story.

So I need someone to proofread. Volunteers. I can’t pay you, except for my undying gratitude. And of course a free copy of what I’ve written. And of course I’m willing to return the favor free of charge! Despite what this blog has left you thinking, I’m good at writing, and know what I’m doing.

I already have one. But I’d like a few more. I’m each of you will catch something different.

So to sum up, I need:

  • A proofreader, or two
  • More coffee
  • A skanky thesaurus
  • A new magic wand

I’m willing to offer, in exchange:

  • Proofreading YOUR story
  • I’ll review your book right here on this someday soon to be highly trafficked blog
  • I’ll make you cookies (delivery in Columbus, Ohio only, otherwise you’ve gotta pick ’em up)
  • I’ll say nice things about you on Twitter. Or nasty things. Or bad things. Whatever you want.
  • You get to read my new book ahead of the rush (which I’m sure there will be when I figure out how to create one!).

I’m going downstairs to refill my coffee. THAT one I can do on my own.

Leave a comment